Butterfinger Pie

Yes, you read that right, now roll up your tongue and put it back in your mouth.

Butterfingers are unquestionably my faaaaaavorite candy bar, however I’m not too fond of most pies.  You won’t catch me blogging about making too many unless I have some sort of change of heart. BUT this is the exception.

When I say I don’t like pie, I mainly am referring to the fruit filled pies. I’ve never been a cobbler fan either to be honest. I would much rather eat a cupcake (I think I would probably always rather eat a cupcake but that’s beside the point). Now I WILL jump on a whipped topping filled pie, maybe a pecan or peanut butter pie here or there (Pumpkin? Key Lime? Lemon Curd? No, thanks) but this pie takes the….cake? Hmmmm…

This is probably one of the easiest things I’ve ever made. I cannot for the life of me remember where I got this recipe from, but I can guarantee you they left out a very important detail when writing out this recipe that was KEY, but don’t fret, I will make sure you don’t become a victim like I did. I had to do one of the MOST heart breaking thing after I made this the first time…

Are you ready?

I had to throw it away! Yes, I know. Tragic, horrible, a “party fowl” if I may.

Image

This pie has 4 ingredients. Pie crust, cool whip, butterfingers, and cream cheese. That’s IT. You start out by crushing 6-7 (of course I recommend 7 😉 ) regular sized butterfingers. You can use a food processor, magic bullet, or, if you don’t have anything along those lines, a ziplock bag and a mallet will also work. Once they are crushed reserve about 3/4 a cup of your finely crushed butterfingers to use as a topping for your pie. Your next step is to mix your cool whip and cream cheese together until it is FINELY BLENDED. Remember back a second ago where I said the original recipe left out an important detail? Yeah, that was it. I mean I know it’s kind of a given, but seriously, make sure it’s softened, I recommend putting it in the microwave to make sure it blends with the cool whip REALLY well because there is nothing like having little chunks of cream cheese mixed in with your sweet cool whip and butterfingers. Gag. Anyway, once you have those two blended well, throw in your crushed butterfingers (sans the 3/4 cup you reserved) and mix them in all nice until your heart is content. Then, pour all the yummieness into your pie crust, get it looking all pretty and pie like, and then top it with the remaining butterfinger pieces! After that cover it and put it in the fridge overnight (or at least 4 hours, I know the temptation is STRONG).

Image

So there you have it, super delicious, super easy, sent from the heavens above, Butterfinger Pie. Thank you and you’re welcome. 🙂

What you’ll need…

  • 1 graham cracker pie crust
  • 1 12oz container of cool whip
  • 1 8oz block of cream cheese
  • 6-7 butterfingers

How to make it…

  • Crush butterfingers until they are almost at a powdery consistency (reserve 3/4 cup for topping)
  • Blend room temperature cream cheese and cool whip until FINELY BLENDED (I still strongly recommend microwaving it for about 30 seconds prior to mixing it with the cool whip)
  • Mix in crushed butterfingers and blend well
  • Pour mixture into pie crust and form
  • Top with remaining crushed butterfingers
  • Place in fridge overnight (minimum of 4 hours)
  • Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

