Honey Spiced Glazed Chicken

Chicken breasts are something I pretty much ALWAYS have on hand around my house. They’re so versatile, cheap, and (if you can find a good recipe) delicious! I’ve had quite a few hits and misses. If it doesn’t have enough flavor, I cannot bring myself to eat it. Plainness is the a no no in my kitchen, so glazes are always welcome.

For some reason we’ve been on a honey kick in this house lately. My oldest daughter is ALL about it. I think she would eat peanut butter and honey sandwiches every day for every meal if I would let her. Heck, maybe I should, its probably close to being one of the healthier food choices she makes.

Anyway, so because of this recent obsession with honey I just happened to have PLENTY on hand when I found this  recipe and I am so very glad I did because this one is a KEEPER. It kind of reminds me of my Sweet and Spicy Pork Chops recipe that I also adore. Sweet and spicy is def my “thing”. Anyway, I threw these together super fast and also got to use my broiler for the first time ever! It makes me sad I haven’t utilized it until now because I love it! it cooks the chicken so fast and it gives it a crispiness a regular oven wouldn’t. Most of these ingredients you probably have on hand, and the great thing about recipes like this is that they’re very customizable, luckily, the original recipe was perfect to me, but like I said, if spice isn’t your thing, leave out the chili powder and red pepper flakes.

Alright, now lets get down to it. Preheat your broiler (or oven if you don’t have a broiler in the top of your stove, I usually do 400 degrees for 20-30 min when I bake my chicken). Mix all those wonderful spices together and set them aside, then get your honey and apple cider vinegar and whisk them together nicely and set them aside as well. Now grab your chicken and and cover it in the spices mixture you threw together, get ‘em all good and covered nice and evenly. Line a baking pan with foil and put your chicken on there and pop it in your oven for about 7 minutes (unless you’re baking it, then just put it in there for the temp and times I recommended earlier) after its done, take it out, turn the chicken over and put it back under the broiler for another 7 minutes. After it’s all done on that side pull it out and brush the glaze over them veeeeery generously until it’s all gone. After that put it back in the oven for about 3-5 minutes to allow your glaze to warm up and get thicker (be careful not to leave it in there too long or the glaze will burn). After it’s all done pull it out of the oven and enjoy!

What you’ll need…

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  •  1 t. of salt
  • 1 t. of pepper
  • 1 t. of chili powder
  • 1 t. of red pepper flakes
  • 2 t. of garlic powder
  • 2. t. of paprika
  • 1/2 cup of honey
  • 2 T. of apple cider vinegar

How to make it…

  • Preheat broiler (or oven as directed above)
  • Mix together spices
  • Mix together honey and vinegar
  • Coat chicken in spices mixture
  • Place chicken on a foil lined baking pan and under the broiler for 7 minutes, then flip chicken over and cook for an additional 7 minutes on the opposite side.
  • After the chicken has cooked under the broiler for 7 minutes on each side remove from oven, brush on the honey/vinegar glaze (all of it) and return to oven for an additional 3-5 minutes
  • Remove from oven, enjoy!

Recipe via nutmegnanny.com

Leave a Reply

