Sweet and Spicy Pork Chops

I will admit, until recently, I loathed pork chops.

I had them a couple times at my MIL’s house and they were bearable, but when I tried to cook them at home the one and only time ever (before this recipe) they came out tough, no flavor, AND they messed up my sautéing pan by leaving black burn marks all over it (it totally wasn’t my fault…) so I had pretty much hung up my apron on trying to ever make any kind of pork chops ever again.

One day while browsing Pinterest I stumbled upon this recipe. Now there are a few things about recipes that catch my eye and make me want to try them. A few of those reason have to do with price, easiness, and how many of the actual ingredients I have on hand already, and this recipe met all those prerequisites!

Now before I get into talking about these delicious chops, I would like to say that I adore the blog this came from (link above andat end of post). We are a military family, one income, three kids, myself, and the husband. We are far from ballin’, so like I said above, price is KEY when I cook and pick out my recipes. The person who writes the blog this came from breaks down price in all her posts which I think is awesome. I know food prices aren’t the same everywhere, but they’re bound to be in the same ballpark, so like I said, I highly recommend checking her out!

Ok, now lets get down to it…

This is about as easy as it gets. Turn your oven on to 350 degrees. Grab you sugar and spices, mix them all up (brown sugar, cayenne pepper, garlic powder, paprika, salt and pepper) and cover you (thawed) pork cups with it until it is ALL gone (I’m not gonna lie, sometimes I make more and smother them with it, I adore it). Pull out your skillet and pour about 2 T. (or enough to cover the bottom of your skillet) of olive oil into it. Turn it on med-high heat and throw the chops in there for about 5min on each side.

Now grab a baking pan and line it with foil (because we’re lazy and hate scrubbing pans), place you chops on there and pop it in the oven for about 5-10 minutes (depending on how fast your oven cooks). Once you pull them out drag them in the glaze at the bottom of your skillet and enjoy!

Image

What you’ll need…

  • 4 thick cut pork chops
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 t. garlic powder
  • 1/2 t. paprika
  • 1/2 t. cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 1/2 t. pepper
  • ~2 T. olive oil (depending on the size of your skillet)

How to make it…

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Mix together sugar and spices
  • Coat chops in sugar/spice mixture
  • Heat oil in skillet on med/high heat and cook seasoned chops about 5 minutes on each side
  • Transfer to foil lined baking sheet and cook in oven for 5-10 minutes until cooked through (don’t cook too long or they will get tough)
  • Remove from oven and drag in glaze in the bottom of skillet.
  • Enjoy!

I would like to say that once you transfer your chops to the baking pan, TURN YOUR BURNER OFF! The glaze gets hard and is nearly impossible to get off after that. After you drag your chops in the glaze once they’re done cooking, fill your skillet with warm water and let it sit until you do dishes. TRUST ME, you’ll want to do this unless you enjoy scrubbing your pans. 🙂

Recipe via Budgetbytes

One thought on “Sweet and Spicy Pork Chops

  1. Pingback: Honey Spiced Glazed Chicken | cupcakes&&kamikazies

Leave a Reply

