Crunkcakes with strawberry coconut rum icing

I’m not trying to brag or anything, buuuuuut I’ve had quite a few requests to post this recipe up.

I’ve been slow on updating this blog because my head is so clogged with crap going on in my life, but the good thing about that is that the more stressed I get, the more I cook and bake, and trust me when I say this, I will be cooking and baking A LOT in the coming months. Soooo bittersweet.

Speaking of bittersweet, lets get to talking about these cupcakes crunkcakes. 🙂

I pinned this while I was pregnant with Elijah, so I have been anticipating making these for a few months now. Even after I was no longer pregnant I put off making them until a special occasion arose, and then my birthday came along and I felt it was the perfect excuse. When I told my mom I wanted to make my own cupcakes for my birthday cookout she objected immediately, but after I explained to her a little about these cupcakes she agreed. I was super excited to make these, and even more excited that my mom was going to watch the kiddos while I made them. Very seldom do I ever get the chance to cook or bake without little hands tugging at my shirt/pants saying, “Can I have some mama?”.

Alright, so lets start out with the fact that I was kinda lazy/in a hurry and decided to use box cake mix instead of making it from scratch. Sue me. I’ve actually read there’s not much difference when it comes to that sort of stuff. Maybe there’s an exception when it comes to things other than your basic vanilla and chocolate cake, but for stuff like this, unless you have the time, I would stick with the box.

So started by mixing up the cake mix as the directions say. I always replace the amount of oil it says for 1 stick of butter (Paula Dean would be so proud!), but thats just a personal choice. After you get done mixing but the batter pop them in some cupcake liners (don’t forget to spray them with oil!) and put them in the oven for the suggested time the box says.

While those are cooking pull out your stand-up mixer (if you don’t have a stand up mixer, or at least an electric hand mixer, I would suggest seeking another icing recipe or just buying some pre-made stuff…unless you have super strong, super spinny go go gadget hands) and mix up 1.5 sticks of ROOM TEMPERATURE butter and 1 cup of hulled and sliced strawberries. Mix them all up until they reach a consistency that resembles this one…

Then mix in 1/4 t. of salt and 1/3 cup of coconut rum (or 2 t. of vanilla if you don’t want to use alcohol) and blend it a little more. I didn’t get a picture after this step but the point is to get the strawberries a little more pureed. After that add in 7.5 cups of powdered sugar one cup at a time mixing well after each cup. You will eventually end up with something that looks very similar to this…

This recipe makes a LOT of frosting, which is awesome if you’re piping your icing on since you use so much more when you pipe (or at least I do). Once you get all that done put it in the fridge to chill so it won’t melt when you put it on your crunkcakes. I had an issue with this because the kitchen was SO hot that it was melting right off.

So by now all your cupcakes are probably done cooking. I would also recommend putting those in the fridge to completely cool. While that’s happening pull out our box of jello (I used strawberry, but next time I’ll play with the flavor, maybe kiwi? Do they make kiwi jello?) and mix it with 1 cup of boiling water and 1 cup of coconut rum (I used Captain Morgans). Mix it up until the powder is completely dissolved.

Once your cupcakes have cooled off a bit pull them out of the fridge and poke holes in the top using a fork or toothpick, making about 10-15 tiny holes. After you do that get your jello/rum mixture and spoon about 1-2 T. of it on top. The original recipe says 3 T. but I did my first 6 with 3 T. and holy crap, I felt like I was taking a straight shot of rum when I took a bite.

If you didn’t get the chance to let you crunkcakes cool really well before you did this, it’s not a huge deal, but I would def let them get nice and chilled before icing them. Once you get that all done pull out your icing of choice and frost them all up and enjoy! 🙂

Crunkcakes 

What you’ll need…

  • 1 box of vanilla cake mix (and the ingredients it takes to make it as directed on the box)
  • 1 box of Jello (I used strawberry)
  • 1 cup of light coconut rum
  • 1 cup of boiling water

How to make them…

  • Make vanilla cupcakes as instructed on the back of cake mix box, cook cupcakes as directed
  • Mix together 1 cup of boiling water and 1 cup of coconut rum with 1 box of jello
  • Let cupcakes cool and then poke 10-15 holes using a fork or toothpick
  • Spoon on 1-2 T. of jello mixture on top of cupcakes

Strawberry Coconut Rum Buttercream

What you’ll need

  • 1.5 sticks of butter
  • 1 cup of fresh sliced and hulled strawberries
  • 1/4 tsp of salt
  • 1/3 cup of rum OR 2 T. of vanilla extract (your choice)
  • 7.5 cups (2lbs) of powdered sugar

How to make it…

  • In a stand up mixer (or an electric hand mixer) mix together strawberries and room temperature butter
  • Add in salt and rum OR vanilla. Mix until most of your strawberries have pureed.
  • Add in 7.5 cups of powdered sugar 1 cup at a time mixing well after each cup is added.
  • Once well blended cover and chill until ready to use

Cupcakes recipe adapted from iheartcuppycakes.com

Frosting recipe from how2heroes.com 

4 thoughts on “Crunkcakes with strawberry coconut rum icing

  1. Pingback: Banana Nut Bread | cupcakes&&kamikazies

Leave a Reply

