Roasted Green Beans with Mushrooms, Balsamic, && Parmesan

So I’ve been dieting since after my birthday. I’ve dropped  lots of weight already by doing Turbofire, eating lots of fresh fruits and veggies and drinking water every other second of the day. As a foodie I’ve been kinda…bored with it. I would just kill to go to Five Guys and get the most greasy, fatty, carb loaded burger they have on the menu and then follow that with a large fry smothered in cheesy goodness…but I won’t. 😦

So anyway, I’ve been searching Pinterest for some good veggies recipes when I stumbled across this one. I knew instantly that I would love this because it included, 1.) mushrooms, 2.) parmesan and 3.) roasting vegetables. Roasting veggies isn’t only a healthier alternative to sauteing them in tons of oil or butter (guilty), but it brings out their actual flavors MUCH more. Sadly, this recipe sat on my pin board for quite some time before I got around to making it because I could not find the green beans that I was supposed to use, but a couple days ago I ran across them at Sam’s Club and scooped them up! And Luckily I had some leftover mushrooms from making Chicken Bella. 🙂

So this is pretty easy. You need to have about zero cooking skills to do this. First you need to trim your green beans. To do that (and I will quote the original poster of this recipe because she explains it SO much clearer than I would have), “An easy way to trim them is to gather a small handful of beans, stand them up on cutting board, holding loosely so they will fall down and have ends ends aligned, then trim. Repeat with other end”. After that slice the pile down the middled so they’re in more bite size like pieces.

After you get them all trimmed and cut, toss them into either a bowl (that has a lid) or ziplock bag with your completely washed and dried mushrooms. After that whisk together 1.5 T of olive oil and 1 T of balsamic vinegar and pour them over your green beans/mushrooms. Try to get your veggies covered with the oil/vinegar mixture as evenly as possible (I put the lid on my bowl and shook it until I felt like they were covered pretty well). After that I let it sit, covered, in my fridge for an hour or so, but that’s just because it was way too early to be putting them in the oven for dinner.

When you’re ready, preheat your oven to 450 degrees and line the biggest baking pan you have (preferably something in the 9×12 range) with foil and spray with non-stick oil (I used olive oil) and dump your veggies right on top. Spread them out as good as you can and (optional) sprinkle italian seasoning on top (I probably used about a tablespoon, give or take some) and put it in the oven for 20-30 minutes. I took mine out at exactly 23 minutes.

Once removed from the oven sprinkle with 2 T of parmesan cheese and enjoy!

What you’ll need…

  • 8oz. of sliced mushrooms (I used crimini mushrooms)
  • 1lb. of fresh french style green beans
  • 1.5 T of olive oil
  • 1 T. of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 T. of italian seasonings (optional)
  • Cooking spray
  • 2 T. of freshly grated parmesan cheese

How to do it…

  • Wash green beans and mushrooms and allow them to dry.
  • Trim ends off green beans and slice them into bite size pieces.
  • Put green beans and mushrooms in a bowl with lid or a large ziplock bag.
  • Whisk together oil and vinegar and pour over vegetables.
  • Close bag or put lid on bowl (make sure it’s on there nice and tight or your ziplock is closed well) and shake vigorously, trying to get everything covered with the oil/vinegar mixture as well as possible.
  • Pour veggies into a foil lined baking pan, sprinkle on italian seasoning and put in oven for 20-30 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and top with parmesan cheese.

Recipe adapted from kalynskitchen.com

Leave a Reply

