Banana Nut Bread

I really should be folding laundry instead of typing this…but…this bread was so good I kinda feel like it’s urgent that I get this posted up here ASAP. I mean, it was really THAT good. The other awesome thing about this recipe is that it makes TWO loaves of bread instead of one, so you can have one to enjoy with your family and another one to shamelessly shove in your face after everyone goes to bed another one to share with someone you wanna make feel special. 😉

This was the first time I had ever made bread, but it’s kind of easy compared to normal bread because there’s no kneading the dough and having to let it rise (or whatever order that goes in), which is the part that intimidates me. All you have to do with this is mix everything together, pour it in the loafpan and let it cook…So I guess it’s kinda just like a giant cupcake.

I looked over at my bananas today and noticed that they were getting quite brown, which instantly reminded me I had pinned this recipe a few months back and completely forgot about it. I have always wanted to try making banana nut bread because I love love love it! This one in particular caught my eye because it had an entire block of cream cheese in it, and oh my, do I love cooking with cream cheese! I probably have a few boxes on hand at all time. I have no idea why but every time I go to the store I grab 1 or 2 more boxes just because I always am finding ways to use it.

So this, much like the strawberry coconut rum buttercream I posted, should probably require a stand up mixer, or at least a good electric hand mixer. I’m not saying it would be impossible, but you better have hulk arms if you want to attempt this with a bowl and whisk…

First, assemble your ingredients (sans the coffee maker and coffee) and preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Start off by beating your softened butter and cream cheese together until they become one fluffy, delicious looking mixture. After that, gradually add in your sugar and lightly beat in your eggs one at a time. At this point it will look more like a runny, yellowish mixture. In a separate  bowl sift together flour, baking soda, salt, and baking powder. Gradually add it to your egg/butter/cream cheese mixture that you got going on (about half a cup at a time) mixing well after each addition. This will make it much less runny and yellow and turn it into a much thicker, light beige colored batter. Now grab you bananas and  mush them up as much as you can. Add the mushed bananas, crushed pecans, and vanilla to the mixing bowl until they are throughly incorporated into mixture…

After that, grease and flour your loaf pans (remember this makes two 8×4 loaves) to ensure it will easily fall right out of the pan when it’s done cooking. Once they’re ready to go, evenly distribute your banana nut bread mixture into the pans and pop them in the oven.

The original recipe says to bake for one hour, the blog I found this on says hers took 1 hour and 15 minutes. MINE took 1 hour and 45 minutes! I’m not sure if it was the fact that my oven sucks or that our electricity went out for a brief second while this was cooking and I forgot to immediately go press the button in the cabinet above my oven (I have no idea what it’s called, I just call it the “reset” button), but I had to eventually cover mine with foil because the tops of the bread were getting a little too golden brown for my liking but the wooden skewer was still coming out of the bread all gooey, so I guess just watch it around the 45 minutes – 1 hour mark and do whatever you feel like needs to be done. I wish I could offer up a better answer, but with three different people coming up with three different times, I’m not sure what to suggest besides that.

After they’re done cooking pull it out of the oven and let it cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes before you pop them out of the pans. Mine fell right out of the pan no problem.

After it’s all done cooling, slice and enjoy!

What you’ll need…

  • 3/4 cup of butter
  • 8oz of cream cheese
  • 2 cups of granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 cups of flour
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/2 t of baking powder
  • 1/2 of baking soda
  • 1.5 cups of mashed bananas (about 4 bananas)
  • 1 cup of chopped pecans
  • 1/2 t. of vanilla extract

How to do it…

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Mix together softened butter and cream cheese
  • Gradually add in sugar 1 cup at a time
  • Add in eggs, one at a time, mixing lightly between each egg
  • Sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a separate bowl. Gradually add to mixture ~1/2 cup at a time, mixing well after every addition.
  • Add in smashed bananas, chopped pecans, and vanilla extract. Mix until well combined.
  • Grease and flour your loafpans. Evenly distribute the mixture into two 8×4 in. loaf pans.
  • Bake in oven for 1 hour to 1.5 hours, making sure the tops do not burn (if they are too golden brown on top and the insides are not done cooking yet, cover with foil until a wooden pick comes out clean from the center of bread)
  • Remove from oven. Allow loaves to cool on a wire rack for 5 minutes before removing from loaf pans.
  • Slice and enjoy!

Recipe via sugarandspice-celeste.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “Banana Nut Bread

  1. ha. you are so funny. i like that crossed out line up at the beginning. and that bread looks like the bomb. seems like it’d be super moist.

Leave a Reply

