Late Night Deep Dish Cookie

So I just got back into town this evening. I’ve been back in Greenville, NC visiting friends the last four days, so I don’t have any goodies cooked up and ready for when I get my fat girl cravings every night on occasion. Well, tonight it happened, and the garlic parmesan pita chips just weren’t cutting it. I knew there was no way I was going I whip up a batch of cookies or cupcakes at midnight, so I settled for this pin I remembered pinning a few weeks ago for just such occasions (like a girl scout, always prepared 😉 ). The results where very much like I expected. If I had to describe it, I would say it tasted very much like Spongebob would after he was shot with a chocolate chip machine gun and then nuked in the microwave for 1 minute.

Before I continue, let me say this, I’m not one of the “Pintesting” blogs (although, I adore them) and I don’t intend to regularly post my Pinterest experiments on here, but I wanted to take this experience as 1.) an opportunity to link you all to my friend Mandy’s blog that she just started where she will be doing some Pintesting (to which I will be contributing) and to 2.) give my take on the microwaveable deserts fad that seems to be going on.

20120904-004309.jpg

So my review of this is…not great. Maybe I’m a cookie snob, but the consistency was more like bread than cookie, very spongy and my chocolate chips didn’t melt, which, in my book, is no good. I won’t lie to you though, I did eat most of it just because I was dying for something sweet.

I’m glad I put this whole curiosity of cooking sweets in the microwave to rest, it’s just tooooooo good to be true I suppose, but for those of you who are interested in trying this recipe out, I will post it below. I would love to hear if people yielded any different (better) results.

Ps. There’s no link to the recipe. It was the caption of the pin and when you clicked on the picture it took you to a page that “no longer existed”.

What you’ll need…

• 1 T. melted butter
• 1 T. white sugar
• 1 T. brown sugar
• 1 pinch of salt
• 3 drops of vanilla extract
• 1 egg yoke
• 1/4 cup of flour
• 2 T. chocolate chips

How to do it…

• Mix all ingredients together thoroughly.
• Pour into a small microwaveable glass dish (much like an individual serving porcelain dish).
• Microwave for 40-60 seconds.
• Attempt to enjoy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

