Banana Nut Oatmeal Cookies

You know what gets me excited? Super ripe bananas! Like, seriously, the possibilities are endless AND bananas taste way better when they’re overly ripe…who cares if they’re less nutritious that way? Not I.

20120907-005833.jpg

So anyway, I’m dieting again, for like the 180 billionth time in the past few months, but I’m seriously sticking to it this time…except for these cookies…which I will eat in moderation…because everything is ok in moderation…right?! šŸ™‚ But really, I only made these cookies because my little girls were giving me sad puppy eyes and asking if they could help me baking something yummy, and if you know my little girls you would know it’s like, nearly impossible to say no to them.

I can easily say that these have made it into my top three favorite cookies of all time list. I’m SO glad I stumbled across them over on Six Sister Stuff which I adore and is one of my favorite blogs ever and I highly recommend checking out…well…everything!

On top of the fact that these cookies are amazingly delicious, they’re also super easy and kind of customizable to your preferences. For example, I don’t like chocolate chips, so I doubled the recipe from Six Sisters, split it in half, put chopped pecans in my half and put peanut butter/chocolate swirl chips in the girls half. I bet they would also be good with white chocolate chips or chopped walnuts…or just plain old banana oatmeal cookies for that matter!

Ok, I’m babbling. I know you’re drooling now and want the recipe, so here it is!

Start by preheating your oven to 375 degrees and lining a baking sheet with parchment paper. Next sift together your flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside. Take your softened butter and mix it thoroughly with the white and brown sugar until its nice and fluffy, then add in eggs and vanilla extract, mix well. Take your smashed up (very ripe) banana and mix it into your batter, then slowly add in your flour mixture about half a cup at a time until it is well incorporated.

20120907-012836.jpg

I would like to take a second here to add that if you are choosing to do this old school style with a bowl and spoon, I hope you ate your Wheaties or did a few arm reps before hand, because my stand up mixer was struggling at this point, and that thing is a beast! BUT I also was making a double batch so perhaps that had something to do with it? Anyway…

The next step is to add your rolled oats to your cookie batter (dough? I’m having a very hard time referring to this as “dough” because once everything is done mixing, it’s probably the most runny cookie dough I’ve ever worked with). Once you mix your oats in nicely, you can add 2 cups of whatever you feel like will make you smile to the “dough”, but I will highly recommend chopped pecans, because it’s like banana nut bread cookies, which is just amazing!!!

After you get your ingredient of choice mixed in well, scoop up about 1/4 cup of your cookie dough and form it best you can into a ball and plop it right onto your parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Leave about 2 inches+ between each cookie, because these get pretty big while they’re cooking.

20120907-020219.jpg

Bake for about 12-13 minutes or until edges become golden. They won’t seem very done at first but just allow them to cool and they will harden up a good bit. I can’t speak for these cookie specifically, but when I made regular oatmeal raisin cookies last time I baked the first batch a couple minutes longer than the instructed time because they didn’t look ready, and they weren’t very soft and chewy after awhile. When I cooked my second batch I did it exactly how long it said to, let them cool and harden, and they stayed soft and chewy until we finished them (like 2-3 days after baking).

20120907-020318.jpg

I hope you all enjoy these as much as we did! Happy Friday everyone! šŸ™‚

What You’ll Need…

ā€¢ 1.5 cups all-purpose flour
ā€¢ 1 t. salt
ā€¢ 1/2 t. baking soda
ā€¢ 3/4 cup butter, softened
ā€¢ 1/2 cup granulated sugar
ā€¢ 1/2 cup brown sugar
ā€¢ 1 egg
ā€¢ 1.5 t. vanilla extract
ā€¢ 1/2 cup mashed ripe banana
ā€¢ 1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats
ā€¢ 2 cups chopped pecans (or your add-in of choice)

How To Make It…

ā€¢ Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.
ā€¢ Sift together 1.5 cups of all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon of salt, and 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda, set aside.
ā€¢ Beat together softened butter, brown sugar and white sugar until fluffy.
ā€¢ Add in egg and vanilla extract, mix well, add in mashed banana, mix well.
ā€¢ Slowly add in flour mixture ~1/2 cup at a time until it is all completely incorporated into the dough.
ā€¢ Add in oats, mix well, add in chopped pecans, mix well.
ā€¢ Form balls of dough, about 1/4 a cup each, and place 2 inches apart on parchment paper lined cookie sheet.
ā€¢ Bake for 12-13 minutes or until edges are golden, remove, allow to cool.
ā€¢ Enjoy! šŸ™‚

Recipe adapted from Six Sisters Stuff

Leave a Reply

